Must-See Spring Festivals in Japan

Imagine walking through a tunnel of cherry blossom trees, looking up through the branches as dappled sunlight and soft, pink cherry blossoms fall lightly on your face. This is Japan in springtime.

If you’re thinking about taking a trip to Japan, spring may just be the perfect time to visit. While Japan certainly holds plentiful attractions for visitors throughout the year, spring is arguably the time when the country looks its prettiest.

In fact, many visitors to Japan plan their trip to coincide with the blooming of the cherry blossom, planning carefully in advance to ensure their trip coincides with the time the cherry blossom looks its very best.

So, where should you go to see the cherry blossom as it comes into bloom? There are plenty of amazing places to see cherry blossom around Japan, so why not take a flower walk – or hanasanpo – in some of these beautiful spots to experience the best of this springtime tradition.

Cherry Blossom Viewing around Japan

The castle town of Hirosaki is home to the Sakura Matsuri festival, and is perhaps one of Japan’s most notable cities famous for its bountiful cherry blossoms.

Set in almost 50 hectares, the park in Hirosaki holds around 2,600 cherry trees, with some that are said to date back to 1715. With its grand castle and turrets, and its abundant cherry blossom, this is one festival that’s not to be missed.

Or why not head to the Nara Prefecture? Here you can visit Nara Park, a historical park surrounding Todai-ji Temple, Kofuku-ji Temple and Shoso-in Repository. Explore the vast parklands to see the many herds of deer as they roam around under the park’s 1,700 gorgeous cherry trees.

cherry blossom japan spring festival

Also in Nara is Mount Yoshino, a mountain with more than 30,000 cherry trees. Considered to be the best viewing spot in all of Japan, this mountain blooms with various types of cherry blossom, with displays that can last up to a month.

Alternatively, you could travel to Osaka to visit the Japan Mint. Here you can step through the picturesque cherry blossom viewing tunnel, to take a closer look at the 120 varieties planted there.

Or if you’re planning on staying in Tokyo for the cherry blossom blooming, be sure to visit Ueno Park. The 1,000 trees along the street leading towards the National Museum and around Shinobazu Pond are lit up at night, making it the perfect spot for an evening stroll.

Spring Festivals in Japan

While cherry blossoms may take centre stage, plenty of other blooms put on a show in Japan come springtime. Check out the endless blanket of blue and white nemophila (baby blue eyes) as it rolls across the hills at Hitachi Seaside Park, Ibaraki.

Meander under the hanging wisteria at the wisteria festival at the Ashikaga Flower Park in Tochigi or Kawachi Fujien in Fukuoka, or marvel at the glorious pinks and purples of shibazakura – or moss phlox – at either shibazakura festival located at Mt Fuji or Chichibu.

Once you’ve had your fill of flowers, immerse yourself in the art of sumo at the annual sumo wrestling tournament held in Osaka in March. Or visit Inuyama to see the wondrous floats at the Inuyama Festival, a festival that dates back to 1635, celebrating the Haritsuna shrine.

Don’t forget to include the above in your Must-See list while you’re planning for your upcoming Japan trip. And remember to stay protected by purchasing your travel insurance beforehand with Chubb Insurance Hong Kong Limited.

Disclaimer: This content is brought to you by [Chubb Insurance Hong Kong Limited] (“Chubb”). This content has been prepared by Chubb as a convenience to readers and is not intended to constitute advice or recommendations upon which a reader may rely. Chubb has used reasonable efforts in collecting, preparing and providing this content, but makes no warranty or guarantee about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the content or of the information linked to this web site. Readers relying on any content do so at their own risk.

萬勿錯過日本春祭

試想一下,走過櫻花盛開的大道,享受樹下斑駁柔和的陽光,讓落下的櫻花輕撫您的臉。這 就是日本的春季。

如果您正計劃前往日本旅遊,春季或許就是最佳的時間。即使日本一年四季也有數之不盡的旅遊景點,春季可謂日本最美的季節。

事實上,不少訪日旅客都會配合櫻花盛放的日子準備旅程,預先小心安排行程,確保不會錯過欣賞櫻花的最佳時機。

那麼,在櫻花盛開時,您應該到何處觀賞?日本各地都有大量欣賞櫻花的理想地點,何不前往一些美麗景點,一嘗花野漫步的樂趣,親身體驗這個最佳的春季傳統活動?

日本各地櫻花景點

城下町弘前市每年都會舉辦櫻花祭,是憑藉櫻花盛放而聞名的日本名市之一。

弘前公園佔地接近 50 公頃,共有約 2,600 棵櫻花樹,據稱部分櫻花樹早於 1715 年已種植於此。擁有壯觀的城樓,加上無數櫻花盛開的美景,令這裡的櫻花祭成為不能錯過的節慶活動。

或者,何不試遊奈良縣?在這裡,您可一遊奈良公園 (Nara Park)。這個公園歷史悠久,周邊景點包括東大寺、興福寺和正倉院。在這個廣闊的公園中,您可看到一群群奈良鹿在園內 1,700 棵絢麗的櫻花樹下漫步。

此外,奈良縣的吉野山 (Mount Yoshino) 亦有超過 30,000 棵櫻花樹。此山被視為擁有全日本最佳景色,各種綻放的櫻花爭妍鬥麗,如此美景更可以持續長達一個月。

除此之外,您亦可以到大阪市欣賞造幣局 (Japan Mint) 的櫻花美景。在這裡,您可以走過風光如畫的櫻花大道,近距離欣賞 120 種櫻花的美態。

如果您計劃留在東京賞櫻花,那絕對要到上野公園 (Ueno Park) 一遊。通往東京國立博物館街道兩旁與不忍池 (Shinobazu Pond) 附近的 1,000 棵樹在晚上會閃亮起來,是晚間漫步的理想地點。

日本春祭櫻花盛開

日本春祭

即使櫻花成了春祭的主角,其他多種鮮花也同樣會在日本的春季燦爛盛放。若身在茨城縣,不妨到國營常陸海濱公園 (Hitachi Seaside Park),欣賞漫山遍地的藍白色粉蝶花(琉璃唐草)。

您還可以漫步栃木縣足利花卉公園 (Ashikaga Flower Park) 或福岡縣河內藤園 (Kawachi Fujien) 的紫藤祭,或者富士山或秩父市的芝櫻祭。

雖然您的心已被各種鮮花佔據,但是亦可前往大阪市觀賞 3 月在當地進行的相撲比賽,沉醉於相撲藝術之中。您也可以到犬山市,欣賞犬山祭的花車巡遊,此祭典由針綱神社 (Haritsuna Shrine) 於 1635 年沿辦至今。

在計劃下次日本之旅時,別忘記將以上景點加至您的必看清單。同時,請謹記在出發前向香港安達保險有限公司購買旅遊保險,讓您全程獲得保障。

免責聲明: 以上內容由「香港安達保險有限公司」(「Chubb」) 提供。此內容由 Chubb 為了方便讀者而準備,並不代表會構成可供讀者依賴的意見或建議。Chubb 已盡合理努力收集、準備及提供此內容,但對於相關內容或與本網站相連的資訊是否準確、完整或充足一概不作保證或擔保。依賴任何內容的讀者應當自行承擔風險。