Common Travel Insurance Misconceptions

Travel insurance is pretty awesome. For a small cost, you can insure against the worst happening on your trip – so you get to relax and enjoy the good stuff. But, there are many misconceptions and myths surrounding travel insurance. To make sure you get the right cover – and stay protected as you travel – we’re going to debunk some of the most common ones.

Myth 1: You only need travel insurance to cover big trips overseas

There can be so much planning that goes into overseas travel. You need to research the best places to go, you have to find and compare flights and accommodation, and you need to do a whole heap of other organising to make sure everything goes according to plan. It only makes sense that you want to protect it all with travel insurance.

Apart from the core coverage like loss of baggage and money, baggage delays and loss of travel documents, the coverage could extend to rental vehicle excess, terrorism and travel inconveniences like postponement of journey to name a few.

Myth 2: Your trip is completely covered by your credit card travel insurance

Credit card companies often offer travel insurance to customers who book travel with their card.While this can be handy, the travel insurance on offer is not always as extensive as many customers think, leaving them unknowingly uninsured when they travel.

Before you rely on your credit card insurance, be sure to read the fine print carefully to make absolutely sure it gives you the full cover you need – and that your trip is completely protected. Compare it to other travel insurance policies on offer and you may find that taking out a standard policy is a much wiser idea. Consider the different policies that Chubb Insurance Hong Kong Limited offers to its consumers with up to 32 benefits for individual, family and group travels.

Myth 3: Choosing the cheapest travel insurance is not a good idea

We all compare travel insurance policies before we buy – but, should you cross a policy off your list just because it’s cheap? No! Cheap travel insurance can provide all the cover you need. Just because it costs less, does not mean it won’t work! Just make sure to read the policy’s small print to take note of what is covered by the insurance policy before going on your trip. To set your mind at ease, you may also want to do a little background research by checking online for reviews on the insurance provider.

Myth 4: You don’t really need to declare pre-existing conditions

If you have a pre-existing condition, you don’t really have to tell your insurer beforehand, do you? Yes, that’s right because in general, all pre-existing conditions will be excluded from the policy.

Disclaimer:

This content is brought to you by [Chubb Insurance Hong Kong Limited] (“Chubb”). This content has been prepared by Chubb as a convenience to readers and is not intended to constitute advice or recommendations upon which a reader may rely. Chubb has used reasonable efforts in collecting, preparing and providing this content, but makes no warranty or guarantee about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the content or of the information linked to this web site. Readers relying on any content do so at their own risk.

常見的旅遊保險誤解

旅遊保險好處多多。只需少許成本,即使旅程上發生最糟糕的事也可獲得保障,讓您真正放 鬆身心,享受美好旅程。不過,很多人對旅遊保險還是有許多誤解。為確保您有正確的概念, 並在旅程中受到保障,我們將一一拆解最常見的誤解。

誤解 1:您只需要旅遊保險來保障長途海外旅行

海外旅行可以有無數計劃。您需要研究去哪個最佳景點,又要尋找和比較航班和住宿,還要 組織一大堆行程,確保一切都按計劃進行。為了不讓您的努力付之一炬,您需要旅遊保險保 障一切。

基本保障如遺失行李和金錢、行李延誤和遺失旅行證件等,保障範圍還可擴大到租賃車輛超 額、恐襲和行程受阻,就如旅遊延遲也受保障。.

誤解 2:您的信用卡旅遊保險完全保障旅程的一切

信用卡公司通常為使用信用卡預訂行程的客戶提供旅遊保險。雖然方便,但信用卡公司提供 的旅遊保險並不如客戶所想般覆蓋範圍廣泛,往往出遊時,他們在不知情下其實沒受保障。

在依賴您的信用卡保險之前,定必要仔細閱讀條款細則,確保您所需的全獲保障,而您的旅 程亦完全受保障。將之與其他旅遊保險計劃比較,您或許會發現購買標準計劃會是更明智的 抉擇 。「香港安達保險有限公司」(「Chubb」) 旗下有多種保險計劃任君選擇,可為外遊的個別人士、家庭和團體提供多達 32 種保障。

誤解 3:一分錢一分貨,選擇最廉價的旅遊保險當然不是一個好主意

我們都會在購買旅遊保險計劃前四出比較,不過,您應否因計劃太廉價,而從清單上剔除它 呢?不!廉價旅遊保險可以提供您所需的所有保障。不要因它所費較少,而認為它沒有用處! 緊記在出發前閱讀計劃的小字體印刷本,查看該保險計劃的保障項目。您還可上網搜尋一下 保險供應商的背景資料,查看評價等,便能買得安心。

誤解 4:您未必一定要申報投保前已存在疾病

那麼,您有投保前已存在的疾病,您未必一定要告訴保險公司,對嗎?是的,一般而言,已 存在的疾病都是旅遊保險的保單條款中之不保事項。

免責聲明:

以上內容由「香港安達保險有限公司」(「Chubb」) 提供。此內容由 Chubb 為了方便讀者而 準備,並不代表會構成可供讀者依賴的意見或建議。Chubb 已盡合理努力收集、準備及提供 此內容,但對於相關內容或與本網站相連的資訊是否準確、完整或充足一概不作保證或擔保。 依賴任何內容的讀者應當自行承擔風險。