Riding the Korean Wave

Incredible and unstoppable, the Korean Wave has made its way across the world, bringing with it all the sparkle and pop of Korean pop culture. Known as hallyu in Korean, the Korean Wave started out small in the 1990s, as the popularity of K-Pop and K-Drama spread throughout East, South and Southeast Asia.

From there, Korean culture became a global phenomenon that spread far and wide through social media, blogging and video sharing on sites such as YouTube. Korean culture has become so popular, in fact, that exporting its pop culture has become an important aspect of South Korea’s economy, encouraging tourism within the country, and many exports out of it.

K-Pop

A genre of music that has found a home in MP3 players around the world, K-Pop was one of the most important components to start the Korean Wave. Packed with awesome audio-visual elements, K-Pop ranges over musical styles that include dance-pop, electro-pop, ballad, R&B and hip-hop. Remember Psy? Remember Gangnam Style? That was K-Pop at its most popular.

K-Drama

Another early contributor to the building of the Korean Wave was K-Drama. Popular forms of KDrama include sageuk – historical dramas – and soap opera-style drama series. Generally shot on a tight schedule, using just one director and one writer, Korean dramas are most unlike their foreign counterparts. Screenplays can change according to viewers’ feedback, with filming sometimes wrapping up just a few hours before the actual broadcast.

Korean Fashion

The rising popularity of K-Pop and K-Drama put Korean culture at the forefront of people’s attentions around the world, which led to a knock-on effect in the world of fashion. Fans of K-Pop and K-Drama suddenly wanted to dress and look like their idols, which meant Korean fashion suddenly had a lot more fans and followers.

From Korean fashion to Korean makeup, it all became part of that unrelenting Korean Wave. Some fans even go so far as to get plastic surgery to look more ‘Korean’.

Getting Amongst It

For fans of K-Pop and K-Drama, for followers of Korean fashion and lovers of the Korean ‘look’,travelling to South Korea can be a dream come true. There, fans can see where their favourite KDramas were filmed, they can buy Korean fashion right from the source, and they can eat delicious Korean food. Yep, even Korean cuisine is emerging in popularity as the Korean Wave swells around the world.

What are you waiting for? Pack your luggage now and don’t forget to purchase travel insurance from Chubb Insurance Hong Kong Limited too!

Disclaimer:

This content is brought to you by [Chubb Insurance Hong Kong Limited] (“Chubb”). This content has been prepared by Chubb as a convenience to readers and is not intended to constitute advice or recommendations upon which a reader may rely. Chubb has used reasonable efforts in collecting, preparing and providing this content, but makes no warranty or guarantee about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the content or of the information linked to this web site. Readers relying on any content do so at their own risk.

韓流風潮魅力無限

「韓風」席捲全球,為各地帶來韓國流行文化所激起的閃爍火花與流行音樂。韓流,即廣為 人知的韓文「hallyu」,這股浪潮於 1990 年代萌芽,當時韓國流行音樂 (K-pop) 和韓劇的知 名度逐漸遍及東亞、南亞及東南亞各地。

自此,韓國文化成為一個全球現象,並透過社交媒體、部落格及影片分享網站如 YouTube 等 迅速散播。韓國文化變得相當流行,因此將流行文化輸出已成為南韓經濟的其中一個重要範 疇,而刺激國內旅遊業和許多出口貿易也全賴此風潮。

K-Pop

K-Pop 是形成韓流的其中一個重要部分,也是一種廣受全世界樂迷歡迎的音樂風格。滿載極 佳的視聽元素,K-Pop 串連多種音樂類型,包括流行舞曲、流行電音、情歌、節奏藍調和嘻 哈。還記得 Psy 嗎?還記得《江南風格 (Gangnam Style》一曲嗎?那是 K-Pop 最盛行之時。

韓劇

另一個造就韓流浪潮的早期成員——韓劇。流行韓劇的形式包括史劇 (sageuk),即歷史劇, 以及肥皂劇。這些電視劇的拍攝時間通常很緊迫,只有一個導演和一個編劇。而且,韓劇的 拍法與其他外國劇集通常很不同,劇本可以根據觀眾的反應而更改,有時候甚至會在播放前 幾小時才完成拍攝。

韓國時裝

隨著 K-Pop 和韓劇大行其道,韓國文化也自然受到全球關注,隨之為全球的時尚風潮帶來連 鎖效應。為了打扮成偶像一樣,韓流粉絲突然對韓國時裝產生了興趣,造就喜歡韓國時裝的 人數暴增。

從韓國時裝到韓國美妝,一切都變成勢不可擋的韓流的一部分。有些「韓粉」為了看起來更 像「韓國人」,甚至選擇整容。

深入韓流之地

對於 K-Pop 和韓劇的粉絲、喜歡韓國「裝扮」的人士和韓國美妝愛好者來說,到南韓旅行絕 對是個夢想成真的好機會。粉絲可以在那裡看到所愛韓劇的拍攝場地,可以即場購買韓國時 裝,還可以品嚐韓國美食。對!全球韓流浪潮也令韓國料理人氣急升。

您還在等甚麼?立即收拾行李,還有別忘了購買「香港安達保險有限公司」 (Chubb Insurance Hong Kong Limited) 的 旅遊保險 ,讓旅程安心又稱心!

免責聲明:

以上內容由「香港安達保險有限公司」(「Chubb」) 提供。此內容由 Chubb 為了方便讀者而 準備,並不代表會構成可供讀者依賴的意見或建議。Chubb 已盡合理努力收集、準備及提供 此內容,但對於相關內容或與本網站相連的資訊是否準確、完整或充足一概不作保證或擔保。 依賴任何內容的讀者應當自行承擔風險。