Koh Samui: Your Next Destination in Thailand

From its gorgeous beaches and fascinating wildlife, to its incredible temples and numerous Buddhas, Thailand should be on everyone’s Must See list. Whether you’re looking for legendary nightlife or delectable food, whether you want to live it up or sightsee on a shoestring, this is the place to do it.

But where should you go in Thailand? Perhaps one of the most popular ways to see Thailand is to do some island hopping. But with so many gorgeous islands on offer, seeing them all could take some time. With that in mind, one of the best places to start is Koh Samui.

Koh Samui is Thailand’s second largest island, located in the Gulf of Thailand off the east coast of the Kra Isthmus. Getting there involves a flight from Hong Kong to Koh Samui. Alternatively, you could also take a flight from Hong Kong via Bangkok to Surat Thani, then a bus and ferry to Koh Samui. While planning your flights, don’t forget to purchase your travel insurance from Chubb Travel Insurance to stay covered for your trip.

Where to Stay

Even as a relatively small island, Koh Samui still manages to have something for everyone. If you want a lively atmosphere and plenty of partying, then Chaweng is the place for you. If you want to save money while still staying in the thick of things, check out Lamai.

If you want a more traditional experience and a village community atmosphere, Bophut may be the best option. If you want to get away from it all and enjoy lazing on tranquil beaches all day, Maenam is the ideal destination.

ATV quad bike safari koh samui

Getting Around

When it comes to getting around the island, there are various options on offer. You could take a taxi – but with just one taxi company on Koh Samui, this can get expensive. To save money, take a motorbike taxi or a songthaew (pick-up taxi). This is the closest thing to a bus on the island.

If you want a bit more independence, you can also rent a car or a bicycle, but be aware that Koh Samui has one of the highest rates of traffic accidents in Thailand. So stay safe and make sure you have insurance!

Things to Do

One of the great things about Koh Samui is that you can choose to do a lot or a little. Either works very well indeed! You could spend your entire holiday relaxing on the island’s many glorious beaches, or you could immerse yourself in any number of exciting activities.

When it comes to watersports, you could try your hand at snorkelling or scuba diving, kiteboarding or flyboarding. To see more of the island, you could take an ATV quad safari, or take to the water on a kayaking adventure.

If you want to do some sightseeing, there are temples and natural attractions galore. Be sure to visit Ang Thong National Marine Park, the Na Muang waterfalls, and the Hin Ta and Hin Yai rocks (the Grandpa and Grandma rocks).

In terms of man-made attractions, check out the Secret Buddha Garden, the Big Buddha and Wat Plai Laem, and the mummified monk at Wat Khunaram. Other popular options include the Samui Aquarium with Tiger Show at Hua Tanon and the Snake Farm at Baan Taling Ngam.

With so much to see, what will you do first?

Disclaimer: This content is brought to you by [Chubb Insurance Hong Kong Limited] (“Chubb”). This content has been prepared by Chubb as a convenience to readers and is not intended to constitute advice or recommendations upon which a reader may rely. Chubb has used reasonable efforts in collecting, preparing and providing this content, but makes no warranty or guarantee about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the content or of the information linked to this web site. Readers relying on any content do so at their own risk.

蘇梅島:遊泰國的下個目的地

從美麗的海灘、迷人的野生動物、宏偉的寺廟至數之不盡的佛像……泰國是人生必到之地。無論您是要尋找傳奇的夜生活、品嚐當地美食、狂歡一場,或者只想到處觀光,這裡都能滿足您的要求。

但是,到了泰國之後應該去哪兒?或許,其中一個最受歡迎的泰國觀光方法就是跳島遊。可是,當地的美麗小島多如繁星,要到每個小島觀光少不免要花一點時間。因此,蘇梅島是其中一個最理想的出發地。

蘇梅島是泰國第二大島,位於克拉地峽東岸附近的泰國灣。從香港可乘搭直航航班前往蘇梅島。另外,您亦可由香港經曼谷往素叻他尼 (Surat Thani),然後再乘搭巴士和渡輪前往蘇梅島。計劃行程時,別忘記購買安達旅遊保險,為旅程增添保障。

住宿選擇

雖然蘇梅島相對是個「小」島,但仍有些適合所有人前往的地方。假若您喜歡熱鬧與派對,相信查汶 (Chaweng) 能夠符合您所想;假如您想平遊泰國之餘,仍能夠盡情享樂,不妨考慮拉邁海灘 (Lamai)。

若您想感受多點傳統體驗和鄉郊社區氣氛,波普 (Bophut) 或許是最佳之選。假如您想遠離一切,安躺海灘享受平靜的一天,湄南 (Maenam) 將會是您的理想目的地。

蘇梅島越野四驅車

四周遊覽

在島上四處觀光,您可選擇多種交通工具。您可以乘搭的士 – 但是蘇梅島只有一間的士公司,因此車資或許會很昂貴。如要節省金錢,不妨乘搭電單車的士或接單載客的泰式小巴雙條車 (songthaew)。這是島上最接近巴士的交通工具。

如果希望多一點自主,您亦可租一輛汽車或單車,但請注意:蘇梅島是泰國交通意外率最高的地方之一。因此,敬請注意安全,以及謹記購買旅遊保險!

玩樂去處

蘇梅島其中一個最完美的地方,就是您可以選擇盡情玩樂,亦可以選擇盡情休息。兩者都能令您流連忘返!您可以整個假期都在島上美麗的海灘縱情享受,亦可參與數之不盡的刺激活動。

水上活動方面,您可以參加浮潛或水肺潛水、風箏滑水或飛翔水上飄等活動,一試身手。如希望多看島上景點,您可以參與越野四驅車體驗,或者來趟獨木舟水上冒險之旅。

如果您想四處觀光,這裡也有不少寺廟和自然景點讓您參觀。還有,別忘記一遊安通群島國家海洋公園 (Ang Thong National Marine Park)、南門瀑布 (Na Muang),以及阿公阿婆石 (Grandpa and Grandma rocks)。

建築景點方面,不妨參觀秘密佛園 (Secret Buddha Garden)、大佛寺 (Big Buddha) 和千手觀音廟 (Wat Plai Laem),以及肉身舍利寺 (Wat Khunaram) 的木乃伊僧人。其他受歡迎景點還包括位於華路的蘇梅水族館 (Samui Aquarium) 和老虎園,以及位於班達靈岩懸崖 (Baan Taling Ngam) 的蛇園。

如此多景點,您會先去哪兒?

免責聲明: 以上內容由「香港安達保險有限公司」(「Chubb」) 提供。此內容由 Chubb 為了方便讀者而準備,並不代表會構成可供讀者依賴的意見或建議。Chubb 已盡合理努力收集、準備及提供此內容,但對於相關內容或與本網站相連的資訊是否準確、完整或充足一概不作保證或擔保。依賴任何內容的讀者應當自行承擔風險。