Trek these mountains around Tokyo

For some people, the perfect vacation means lazing around beside the pool, venturing no further than the poolside bar on a day-to-day basis. For others, taking a trip means getting out there and exploring, uncovering adventures and discovering wonderful new cultures.

While there is no right or wrong way to ‘holiday’, a trip that involves adventuring will usually require somewhat more research than a vacation spent by the poolside. If you’re ready for your next adventure, Tokyo may just be your dream destination.

No, we’re not talking big city lights. We’re talking trekking. While Tokyo is famed for its dazzling city life, it has so much more to offer. Within an easy distance of Tokyo are three picturesque mountains with trekking routes.

Trek mountains around Tokyo

Ready for the adventure? Yes, but make sure you’re covered with Chubb Travel Insurance before you dust off those hiking boots and book the next flight out to Japan

Mount Fuji*

As Japan’s highest and most prominent mountain, Mount Fuji is picture perfect. Attracting intrepid hikers from across Japan and the world, Mount Fuji sees thousands of visitors each year, utilising its well-worn tracks to reach its 3,776 metre high summit.

From October to Mid-June, conditions make Mount Fuji pretty much unclimbable, so most visitors stick to the official climbing season between early July and mid-September. Be aware though, this is a seriously popular trek.

During peak season from mid-July to the end of August, you can expect to see crowds of people, with some even queuing up at certain passages. While it’s best to avoid these peak times, climbing in a crowd at Mount Fuji is part of the fun. Embrace the camaraderie!

Because of its popularity and well-marked trails, Mount Fuji allows even inexperienced climbers to trek without a guide. Some sections are steep and rocky, but most it is an easy-going climb. Ensure you have the correct footwear and clothing, be aware of the possibility of altitude sickness, reserve an overnight stay in one of the mountain huts, and time the reach of your summit for sunrise.

Mount Mitake*

For slightly easier trekking – and a much quieter experience – head to Mount Mitake. Less than two hours from Tokyo, Mount Mitake is situated within the Chichibu-Tama-Kai National Park, offering a variety of walking and hiking opportunities.

From the upper station of the Mitake cable car, it is a 20 to 30 minute walk to the famous Musashi-Mitake Shrine on the mountain’s summit. Check out the traditional inns and souvenir shops, then hit the trails to discover the Rock Garden, or nearby Mount Odake.

To get from the shrine at the top of Mount Mitake over to Mount Odake*, there are two possible routes. Choose the higher track along the ridge for a more challenging climb, passing over two peaks before joining the lower track. From there, the walk up to Mount Odake is fairly tough, taking around half an hour – but with the view it offers, it’s more than worth it.

Mount Takao*

Even closer to Tokyo is Mount Takao, offering breathtaking scenery, a beautiful temple and some very tempting hiking trails. Visitors can choose from the network of trails, taking about 90 minutes to reach the top of the mountain. To cut that time in half, skip the first part by getting a lift on the cable car.

Whether you’re exploring the spectacularly beautiful Mount Mitake or climbing to the peak of Mount Fuji, Japan has so much to offer visitors. One trip here is never enough; you’ll be back in no time!

*Note – Mount Fuji: 3,776m, Mount Mitake: 929m, Mount Odake: 1,265m & Mount Takao: 599m

Disclaimer:

This content is brought to you by [Chubb Insurance Hong Kong Limited] (“Chubb”). This content has been prepared by Chubb as a convenience to readers and is not intended to constitute advice or recommendations upon which a reader may rely. Chubb has used reasonable efforts in collecting, preparing and providing this content, but makes no warranty or guarantee about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the content or of the information linked to this web site. Readers relying on any content do so at their own risk.

東京近郊三山大步走

對某些人而言,最理想的假期就是整天懶洋洋地在泳池池畔,輕鬆享受假日時光。而對另一些人而言,旅行就是去探索和發掘新事物、新文化。

度假方式無分對錯,但如您選擇後者,就需要多花時間搜集資料。如果您已準備好開展探索之旅,或許東京是您的理想目的地。

不,我們不是指遊覽大城市,而是去徒步行山。雖然東京是一個著名的國際大都會,不過除了城市風光之外,也有其他值得遊覽的地方。距離東京不遠的近郊地區,就有三個風景如畫的徒步路線。

東京近郊三山大步走

您準備好未?好!不過記得在預訂下次日本之旅前,購買 安達旅遊保險 ,確保您獲得保障,就能放心在東京享受行山樂趣。

富士山*

富士山是全日本最高最顯眼的山,無論從哪個角度看都一樣令人驚艷。不過,富士山並非可望而不可及。反之,每年都有成千上萬日本國內及海外勇猛的登山人士,沿著山上久經行走的路徑,攀登至 3,776 米高的富士山山頂。

每年十月至翌年六月中,由於山上的氣候影響,富士山近乎完全不適合攀登,因此大部分旅客選擇在官方的登山季節,即每年七月初至九月中,到富士山登山。不要小看這個登山季節,其受歡迎程度令人無法想像。

七月中至八月尾是富士山的登山旺季,您可以預期見到人山人海的景象,在某些山路上甚至需要排隊等候。雖然最好是避開旺季的人潮,不過在人潮中登上富士山也自有其樂趣。即管享受與素未謀面卻志同道合的人士「並肩作戰」。

由於富士山極受歡迎,加上路線指示清晰,即使是經驗尚淺的人士,也可以在沒有導遊帶領下登山。山上某些路段較斜和崎嶇不平,不過大部分的山路都容易行走。請確保穿上適合的鞋履和衣服,小心患上高山症。記得提前預訂山上小屋住宿過夜,和預留足夠時間登頂,便能在清晨欣賞日出。

御岳山*

假如想選擇較輕鬆的徒步體驗,以及較少人的地方,不妨前往御岳山。御岳山位於秩父多摩甲斐國立公園內,距離東京少於兩小時車程,為旅客提供各種徒步及行山的機會。

從御岳纜車的山上車站出發,在山頂上步行約 20 至 30 分鐘,前往著名的武蔵御嶽神社。您可以看到傳統的旅館和特產店,然後前往登山步道,探索岩石園或附近的大岳山。

從御岳山上的神社前往大岳山*,有兩條路線選擇:一條路線為較具挑戰性、較高的步道,沿山脊走然後經過兩個山峰,接著回到較低的步道。從那裡走向大岳山的路頗艱難,大約需要半小時,但是沿途景色非常優美,再辛苦都值得。

高尾山*

更接近東京的是高尾山,擁有令人嘆為觀止的優美景色、美麗的神社和幾條十分吸引的行山步道。登山旅客可以選擇不同的路線,大約需時 90 分鐘便可登頂。您也可以選擇乘坐登山纜車,省去一半時間。

不論您想登上風景壯麗的御岳山,或富士山山頂,日本總有許多精彩好去處。去一次實在不夠!相信您很快又會計劃下一趟日本之旅!

*註:富士山—— 3,776 米;御岳山—— 929 米;大岳山—— 1,265 米;高尾山—— 599 米

免責聲明:

以上內容由「香港安達保險有限公司」(「Chubb」) 提供。此內容由 Chubb 為了方便讀者而準備,並不代表會構成可供讀者依賴的意見或建議。Chubb 已盡合理努力收集、準備及提供此內容,但對於相關內容或與本網站相連的資訊是否準確、完整或充足一概不作保證或擔保。依賴任何內容的讀者應當自行承擔風險。