10 Places To Add To Your Bucket List

It’s never too early – or too late – to start experiencing more of the world! If you’re looking for inspiration, here are 10 essential places to add to that travel bucket list.

Victoria Falls

Known among local tribes as Mosi-oa-Tunya – or the smoke that thunders – Victoria Falls is classified as the largest waterfall in the world. Forming the border between Zambia and Zimbabwe, the falls span 1.7 kilometres across and 108 metres deep, with more than five hundred million cubic meters of water per minute plummeting over the edge during the rainy season. That’s the equivalent to 200,000 Olympic size swimming pools!

Salar De Uyuni

Ever wondered how the world’s largest salt flat looks like? You’ll need to head to Bolivia then, to see the amazing Salar De Uyuni. Covering more than 10,000 square kilometres, Salar De Uyuni’s remarkable salt flats reach 10 metres deep in the centre, creating some unique photo taking opportunities.

Vaadhoo Island

Situated within the glorious Maldives, Vaadhoo Island is perhaps best known for its ‘Sea of Stars’.Created with the help of bioluminescence, the Sea of Stars is actually a chemical reaction that occurs when microorganisms – or phytoplankton – in the water are disturbed by oxygen. Seen during moonless nights, these amazing microorganisms create glowing blue waves, flowing with tiny fluorescent lights.

Great Wall of China

You’ve heard of the Great Wall of China. But have you seen it, in person? Reaching almost 22,000 kilometres in length, it was built more than 2,300 years ago to protect against invasion – while also protecting the Silk Road trade. Now it sees 70,000 visitors each day – and that’s just in one section of the wall!

Yellowstone National Park

Spanning almost 9,000 square kilometres, Yellowstone National Park in the United States features an incredible range of wildlife, including 70 species of mammals, 322 species of birds, 16 species of fish, and 7 species of ungulates (bison, moose and elk). The park is also home to a vast selection of native and exotic plant life, 290 waterfalls, and one of the world's largest calderas, with more than 10,000 thermal features and 300 geysers.

Whitehaven Beach

Located within Australia’s Whitsunday archipelago, Whitehaven Beach is an award-winning beach on Whitsunday Island. Stretching over 7 kilometres, Whitehaven Beach glows with pure white silica sand, looking out on stunning aquamarine waters. Looking for paradise? You’ve found it!

Easter Island

Rapa Nui – also known as Easter Island – is a remote volcanic island in Polynesia, famed for its awe-inspiring archaeological sites. Perhaps best-known among these sites are the giant moai statues, created by inhabitants between the 13th and 16th centuries. Standing four metres tall and weighing 14,000 kilograms, these mysterious statues remain a fascinating enigma.

Angkor Wat

Simply breathtaking in both its size and detail, Angkor Wat is widely thought of as the world’s largest religious building. Built in the 12th century, the temple is an earthly representation of Mount Meru – similar to the Ancient Greeks’ Mount Olympus. Whilst it is thought to have served as both a temple and mausoleum for Suryavarman II – Angkor Wat remains a subject of curious discussion among scholars and visitors alike.

Eiffel Tower

This French icon was completed in 1889, and at 324 metres tall, it remained the tallest man-made structure in the world for 41 years – until the completion of the Chrysler Building in New York. Having seen more than 250 million visitors since it was opened to the public, the tower is now the most visited paid-for monument in the world.

Machu Picchu

Last, but certainly not least, is Machu Picchu, the Incan citadel set within the Andes Mountains in Peru. Built in the 15th century, Machu Picchu is believed to have been built as an estate for the Inca emperor Pachacuti, but was abandoned around a century after its creation. Providing incredible insight into what the Incans were capable of building, the site’s exact use still remains a mystery.

Explore these wonderful places while being covered by Chubb Insurance Hong Kong Limited, Hong Kong’s leading provider of single, annual and multi-trip travel insurance plans.

Disclaimer:

This content is brought to you by [Chubb Insurance Hong Kong Limited] (“Chubb”). This content has been prepared by Chubb as a convenience to readers and is not intended to constitute advice or recommendations upon which a reader may rely. Chubb has used reasonable efforts in collecting, preparing and providing this content, but makes no warranty or guarantee about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the content or of the information linked to this web site. Readers relying on any content do so at their own risk.

10 個加入旅遊清單的必去之地

想擴闊眼界,認識這個世界多一點,永遠沒有時限,只要您想,隨時都是好時機!若您在尋 找下個目的地,我們可以給您一點頭緒!以下為您介紹 10 個旅遊必去之地,讓您立即加入 目的地清單。

維多利亞瀑布

當地部族稱之為莫西奧圖尼亞,或「雷霆般轟隆作響的煙霧」,維多利亞瀑布獲列為全球最 大的瀑布。此巨型瀑布寬約 1.7 公里,深約 108 米,形成贊比亞與津巴布韋的邊界。雨季期 間,瀑布每分鐘傾瀉超過 5 億立方米的水,相等於 200,000 個奧林匹克運動會專用游泳池的 水量!

烏尤尼鹽湖

有沒有想像過全世界最大的鹽湖是怎樣的?那麼您一定要去玻利維亞,親身欣賞壯觀的烏尤 尼鹽湖。鹽湖面積超過 10,000 平方公里,中心更達 10 米深,景觀奇特,每個角度都能拍出 獨特的照片。

瓦度島

位於壯麗的馬爾代夫,瓦度島最為人所熟悉的大概是其「星之海」。星之海藉由生物發光所 形成,當水中的微生物或浮游植物受到氧氣干擾時則會產生此化學作用。在沒有月亮的晚上, 這些微生物有如點點螢光在海上漂浮,形成閃閃發光的藍色海浪。

萬里長城

中國的萬里長城,您對這個名字大概一點也不陌生。但是您有沒有親眼見過?萬里長城的長 度接近 22,000 公里,建於超過 2,300 年前,當時用作防止外敵入侵,同時保護絲綢之路。時 至今日,每日都有約 70,000 名遊客到長城遊覽,而那只是長城的其中一段而已!

黃石國家公園

總面積接近 9,000 平方公里,位於美國的黃石國家公園擁有大量不同品種的野生動物,包括 70 種哺乳動物、322 種雀鳥、16 種魚類,和 7 種有蹄動物(野牛、糜鹿和加拿大馬鹿等)。 而且,公園也有多種原生及外來植物、290 條瀑布,以及全世界其中一個最大的火山,並擁 有超過 10,000 個火山地貌及 300 個噴泉。

白天堂沙灘

位於澳洲的聖靈群島內,白天堂沙灘是聖靈群島上獲獎無數的沙灘。延綿超過 7 公里,白天 堂沙灘擁有純白矽砂,和迷人的湛藍海水。還在尋找世外桃園?您已經找到了!

復活節島

拉帕努伊,又名復活節島,是玻里尼西亞的一個偏遠火山島,以其氣勢懾人的考古遺址而 聞名。在眾多遺址中,最為人所熟悉的大概是在 13 至 16 世紀之間,由當地居民創造的巨 型摩艾石像。豎立高度約 4 米,重約 14,000 公斤,這些神秘的石像至今仍為現世留下不解 的謎團。

吳哥窟

吳哥窟被廣泛認為是全世界最大的宗教建築,其面積大小及各種細節,著實令人驚嘆。建於 12 世紀,這座廟宇就像是地面上的梅魯山代表——類似古希臘的奧林匹斯山。據說吳哥窟曾 用作廟宇及蘇耶跋摩二世的陵墓,而至今它仍然是學者與遊客之間新奇的討論對象。

艾菲爾鐵塔

這座高約 324 米的法國標誌於 1889 年建成,此後 41 年一直是全世界最高的人造建築,直至 紐約的克萊斯勒大廈建成後,此紀錄才告打破。自從開放予公眾參觀,已有超過 2.5 億名遊 客到此一遊,而且這座鐡塔是全球最多人遊覽的收費古蹟。

馬丘比丘

最後,當然少不了在秘魯安第斯山脈中的印加城堡——馬丘比丘。建於 15 世紀,人們相信 馬丘比丘是為印加帝王帕查庫蒂而建的皇家莊園,但在建成後一個世紀遭荒廢。即使我們明 白印加人具有興建宏偉建築的能力,馬丘比丘的實際用途至今仍是個謎。

安達保險有限公司,全港領先的單次、全年及多次旅遊保險計劃供應商,在您探索這些精彩 旅遊景點的同時為您提供保障。

免責聲明:

以上內容由「香港安達保險有限公司」(「Chubb」) 提供。此內容由 Chubb 為了方便讀者而 準備,並不代表會構成可供讀者依賴的意見或建議。Chubb 已盡合理努力收集、準備及提供 此內容,但對於相關內容或與本網站相連的資訊是否準確、完整或充足一概不作保證或擔保。 依賴任何內容的讀者應當自行承擔風險。