Koh Mak: Thailand’s best kept secret

If you have been dreaming of an idyllic island getaway, Koh Mak may just be what you’re looking for. Situated in the Gulf of Thailand near the Cambodian border, Koh Mak island is located 40 kilometres off the mainland, just south of Koh Chang.

While some of Thailand’s islands are well known for their party atmosphere and non-stop night-life, Koh Mak offers something altogether different. Tranquil and serene, this spectacular bit of Thailand is a relatively undiscovered gem, offering long sandy beaches, diving and plenty of me-time.

How To Get There

Visitors planning a trip to Koh Mak can choose to drive, fly or get the bus from Bangkok to Trat, to then get the boat from Trat’s Laem Ngop pier over to Koh Mak. There are regular departures from the pier, allowing visitors to take a wooden boat, or the much faster (and wetter) speedboat.

Koh Mak Thailand Best Kept Secret

It’s also possible to reach Koh Mak from the mainland at Laem Sok, or from the islands at Koh Chang and Koh Kood.

Where To Stay

As a relatively new tourist destination, Koh Mak has far fewer resorts than many of the other Thai islands. There are around 25 resorts to choose from, each with their own facilities, such as restaurants, swimming pools and spas.

For anyone looking to stay longer on Koh Mak, there are rental properties available. With their own kitchen, these properties allow a little more freedom, but bear in mind that food shopping opportunities are not extensive on the island.

As for restaurants, there are eateries within each resort that guests and non-guests are welcome to try. There is also a range of about 15 independent restaurants and food huts on the island, serving up delicious Thai dishes. Ask for may pet if you’re not keen on hot food!

What To Do

Koh Mak features 27 kilometres of coastline, but most of this is made up of rocky terrain or mangroves. There are, however, two main sand beaches, Ao Kao Beach in the south-west of the island, and Ao Suan Yai in the north-west.

Both of these beaches seriously look like something out of a picture postcard, complete with azure water, white sand and swaying palm trees.

While some visitors are more than happy lazing around on the beach for their entire stay, there are other activities to keep more active guests entertained. Explore the natural scenery on a hiking trip, or adventure underwater diving or snorkelling the nearby Marine Park.

Visit a spa for a traditional Thai massage, hire kayaks for some island hopping to nearby Koh Rayang or Koh Kham, or go further afield by organising a day trip to Koh Wai, Koh Kood, Koh Kradat, Koh Kham or Koh Rayang.

Put on a Captain’s hat and hire a sail boat, or go further afield to try your hand at deep sea fishing. Take a Thai cooking class or take a tour of the island, stopping off at highlights that could include rubber plantations, Ao Nid Pier, a local museum and the Koh Mak Temple.

With so much to do, you’ll never want to leave! Also, don’t forget to purchase your travel insurance from Chubb Travel Insurance while planning your trip to Koh Mak.

Disclaimer:

This content is brought to you by [Chubb Insurance Hong Kong Limited] (“Chubb”). This content has been prepared by Chubb as a convenience to readers and is not intended to constitute advice or recommendations upon which a reader may rely. Chubb has used reasonable efforts in collecting, preparing and providing this content, but makes no warranty or guarantee about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the content or of the information linked to this web site. Readers relying on any content do so at their own risk.

泰國隱世小島—瑪島

假如您一直夢想到世外桃園般的小島享受假期,瑪島或許能令您夢想成真。瑪島位處泰國灣,鄰近柬埔寨邊境,距離泰國內陸 40 公里,於象島 (Koh Chang) 以南位置。

雖然泰國某些島嶼以派對狂歡及無間斷的夜生活聞名,但是瑪島就像是另一個世界,帶給您完全不同的體驗。瑪島在泰國眾多島嶼中,相對是未被發現的隱世小島,瀰漫寧靜閒適的氣氛,除了有延綿的沙灘、潛水勝地,更可以讓您盡享獨處時光。

前往方法

計劃前往瑪島的旅客,可以選擇從曼谷駕車、搭乘飛機或巴士前往達叻 (Trat),然後從達叻的渡船碼頭 (Laem Ngop) 乘船前往瑪島。碼頭有定期船次開往瑪島,旅客可以選擇乘坐木船,或較快速(和更濕身)的快速船。

泰國隱世小島——瑪島

除此之外,旅客也可以選擇從內陸的拉加索 (Laem Sok) 碼頭,或從象島、閣骨島 (Koh Kood) 前往瑪島。

住宿選擇

瑪島是泰國較新的旅遊景點,度假村設施數量比其他泰國島嶼少得多。島上約有 25 間度假村可供選擇,每一間度假村都有獨立的設施,例如餐廳、游泳池和水療中心。

假如您想在瑪島逗留較長時間,也可選擇當地的出租物業。這些物業設有廚房可供煮食,給您多一點自由。不過,島上可以購買食物的地方並不多,敬請注意。

至於餐廳,每一間度假村內都有餐廳食店,不論是否住客也歡迎光顧。如果您想品嚐度假村餐廳以外的美食,其實島上也有大約 15 間餐廳和小食攤檔,供應各式泰式美食。如果您不熱衷於辛辣口味,記得點菜時用泰語說「不辣 (may pet)」!

熱門活動

瑪島擁有 27 公里長的海岸線,不過大部分卻是岩石地帶或紅樹林。然而,島上也有兩個主要沙灘:位於瑪島西南面的敖高沙灘 (Ao Kao Beach),以及位於西北面的奧蘇安亞伊 (Ao Suan Yai)。

這兩個沙灘均擁有蔚藍海水、皓白細沙和搖曳生姿的棕櫚樹,風景如畫。

有些旅客非常樂意在沙灘上懶洋洋地度過悠閒的一天,而比較好動的旅客則可以選擇參加其他島上活動,盡享精彩刺激。例如參加行山行程,探索島上的自然景色,和挑戰海底潛水,或在附近的海岸公園浮潛。

前往水療中心享受傳統泰式按摩、租用獨木舟去附近的拉揚島 (Koh Rayang) 和甘島 (Koh Kham) 體驗跳島遊,或再走遠一點,安排一天遊前往威島 (Koh Wai)、閣骨島、Koh Kradat、甘島或拉揚島等。

您也可以租用帆船揚帆出海,或駛遠一點,體驗深海釣魚的滋味。參加泰菜班,親手烹調泰式美食,或參加當地島上行程,遊覽精選景點,包括橡膠種植園、敖尼碼頭 (Ao Nid Pier)、當地博物館和瑪島廟等。

瑪島有這麼多好玩的地方,教人怎捨得離開!最後,計劃瑪島的行程時,別忘記購買 別忘記購買安達旅遊保險 ,為旅程增添保障。

免責聲明:

以上內容由「香港安達保險有限公司」(「Chubb」) 提供。此內容由 Chubb 為了方便讀者而準備,並不代表會構成可供讀者依賴的意見或建議。Chubb 已盡合理努力收集、準備及提供此內容,但對於相關內容或與本網站相連的資訊是否準確、完整或充足一概不作保證或擔保。依賴任何內容的讀者應當自行承擔風險。